Away from the Land of Nod

When you really need to sleep…

 

Away from the Land of Nod

 

Can’t wait for a nap?

Buzzing for some sleep?

Really just want forty winks?

Or need to check your eyelids

As my dad used to say

 

Strange isn’t it?

That we relish the anticipation

Of something that we

By definition

Cannot consciously enjoy

 

Cannot remember

 

I rarely feel refreshed these days

Rise with a clear head

A stretch and

A nod at the morning

 

I wonder why we never evolved to hibernate

Gluttons for punishment probably

Or greed.

 

Yeah, now, with glinting 21sr century cynicism

Greed makes sense

 

There is an absence in my life

One I’m not able to feel

But I will freely admit

Whilst I pinch my eyes…

 

Still, can’t beat wrapping yourself up in duvet

Pretending you’re a sausage

And drifting off

Slothy and snug

 

Sloth out.

 

 

Leave a Reply

